Monday, 14 March 2016

Book Review - The Forgotten Summer


The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater 

The Blurb

Secrets ripen and fester over a long sweltering summer in France . . .
The annual grape harvest at the Cambon family's magnificent vineyard is always a cause for celebration. But not this year. When an accident destroys the crop, leaving the estate facing ruin, Clarisse Cambon knows exactly who to blame - her daughter-in-law Jane.
It's just the latest incident in a decades-long feud whose origin both women have concealed from Luc, who struggles to keep his wife and mother on speaking terms. But is Luc the saint he appears to be? When tragedy strikes, Jane is thrown into doubt. What secrets has her husband been keeping?
Forced to take charge of the ailing vineyard, Jane uncovers further proof that Luc may not be the man she fell in love with twenty years ago. And, worse still, she knows that her old enemy Clarisse is the only one who knows the truth . . .
For fans of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop, The Forgotten Summer is an atmospheric tale of secrets, forbidden passion and heartbreak.

My Thoughts 

I wanted to so much to love this book but I decided I just like it a lot. I wanted to love it because I thought there was a really good story here - strong. The problem I had was in the plotlines and how slow and ploddy they became. There was a lot of repetition of details, almost as if the writer thought we would forget a few pages down what happened a few pages before. Dialogue was wooden in places. The only person who leapt of the page through dialogue was Clarisse. Claude sounded like a text book and I found myself skimming lots of pages at the end because I wasn't too bothered about how to harvest olives and grapes.
That said, I do think this will be liked by a lot of people I got too easily annoyed by little things like the writer using the word 'about' when 'around would have done at least once.

See what you think - I wouldn't advise against picking this one up but you have been warned.

4 comments:

  1. Ugh. I hate when that happens. As someone once said, "The plot didn't live up to the promise of the premise." I liked that. And it always bothers me when it happens because it's such a letdown.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like that saying. I'm sure lots of people will like this but I couldn't stand all that repetition and bland dialogue. :(

      Delete
  2. I am sometimes let down by my favourite authors when they get over zealous with describing things I have no interest in knowing about. It's as if they have forgotten to think about moving the story forward. I recently finished a book (no name and shame) where there was a whole three pages of description about the fire power the killers had. Who cares? I quickly flicked over those pages. It makes me wonder if the author is adding in the 'surplus to requirement' just to fulfil the word count their publishers insist upon. I must admit though, I find it much easier to pick up on the 'babble' of others than my own :( Uuggghh! Have a lovely spring day!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I know what you mean. I try so hard to keep my reader's interest. Word count or not, there should be a law against 'babble' no matter who writes it :)

    ReplyDelete